Forum

AuthorTopic : Snooker — A Terrible Mistake in Rules
Posts: 11
Recently I've been awarded a frame against an opponent who got himself self-snookered on every color. He attempted to get out of it by choosing the blue ball each time and missed on every occasion.

After the third miss, he lost a game with a funny "Triple Foul & Miss" rule. There's no such thing if you can't directly see at least one object ball, which after all caused Mark King to make 14 consecutive fouls in the world of professionals.

If, however, you're able to see an object ball and miss it three times consecutively, you do concede a frame. A referee must officially warn a player before his third shot that he's a foul away from losing a frame. BUT! It was not the case in this frame, as you may have concluded yourself.

I shouldn't have won that frame at that point of the match. Somebody get that funny "rule" fixed.

2 years 337 days ago

Posts: 2
I won a similar game, I agree, it's a daft rule.

2 years 336 days ago

Posts: 11
Anybody? Admins?

2 years 326 days ago

Posts: 1


2 years 319 days ago

prodrug
Posts: 10
how about the last ball problem.....score is 58-54 after a foul on last black....both white and black remain on table but player on 54 is not allowed a shot and game is awarded to the player who fouled????????????

2 years 125 days ago

Posts: 15
triple foul and miss rule is correct while self implied.

2 years 124 days ago

"I would agree with you, but then we would both be wrong" xD
Posts: 11
Hey, Tony.

As you already know, the black ball in snooker is worth 7 points. There are three outcomes of fouling the final black (NOT the respotted black, I will talk about it later):

1) You have an 8 point advantage or higher: the frame is over and you win, even if you make a foul.

2) You exactly hold a 7 point advantage and make a foul: a respotted black.

3) You have no more than 6 points of advantage or trail by no more than 6 points: you lose the frame.

Now, regarding the respotted black: things don't get any simpler, whoever makes a foul loses the frame.

Hope it all makes sense. Cheers, and see you at the snooker table!

Post has been edited : 2 years 123 days ago2 years 123 days ago

Posts: 2925
http://tinyurl.com/7rz6de3

Post has been edited : 2 years 103 days ago2 years 103 days ago

ain't nobody understand